Mt. Baker Chapter of SHRM

Upcoming Events

    • Thursday, March 14, 2024
    • 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
    • Bellevue, WA


    “The Power of People,” the 2024 WA State Annual Conference, will be held from 8 a.m. – 4:00 p.m., Thursday, March 14, 2024 in person at the Meydenbauer Center in Bellevue, WA, This day-long event includes pre-conference webinars and exciting speakers for people managers all levels and industry. Don't miss this opportunity for professional development and networking.

    Register here: https://www.wastateshrm2024conference.org/

    Earn up to 10.5 PDCs!


    • Thursday, March 21, 2024
    • 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
    • Virtual
    • 70
    Register


    Join us for this month's Virtual SHRM Luncheon

    "Safety & Second Chances"

    Date/Time: Thursday March 21st | 12:00pm - 1:00pm

    Location: Virtual - Link to meeting will be emailed once registered

    What We'll Cover:

    While higher retention and more robust recruitment are stated priorities for most employers, companies' actions (or lack thereof) often do not support those goals. In many cases, the culture and policies in place do the opposite - leading to lower retention and longer times to fill available positions.

    In order to address retention struggles, employers need to be keenly aware of how to create an environment where employees who are having substance issues or are in recovery feel safe asking for help. For recruitment, employers need to be prepared to look in different talent pools and evaluate job seekers they may have turned away in the past differently.

    About Our Presenter:

    Ty Reed - Recovery Career Services

    Ty Reed is an author, professional keynote speaker, recovery coach, and consultant. His personal voyage through life's twists and turns has served as the inspiration behind his mission to assist those in recovery from addiction, homelessness, and the criminal justice system in resolving their employment-related challenges.

    Proudly Sponsored By: Girls on the Run of NW Washington


    Now more than ever, as the world has changed, the needs of girls and the pressures they face have intensified. Numerous reports have shown the decline in girls’ mental health and physical activity levels over the last decade. Girls on the Run helps to address these mental and physical health concerns. Now more than ever, girls need the skills to build their confidence, develop meaningful relationships, and discover the joy of movement. 

    Girls on the Run of NW WA will have over 20 teams meeting once per week all around Whatcom County this spring - April 8th through the 5K on June 8th. There would be no program without our amazing Volunteer Coaches - consider joining us this April for 9 weeks!  Learn more: https://www.whatcomymca.org/gotr-get-involved

    This program is offered on a sliding scale so that no girl is turned away due to inability to pay. 


    Tickets on sale February 9th - March 21st.  

    This program is pending approval for 1 PDCs for the SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP and 1 General HRCI credit.


    • Friday, March 29, 2024
    • 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
    • Virtual
    • 98
    Register


    Join us on the 4th Friday this month at noon for our monthly Lunch Talk!


    This month's topic is "Safety & Second Chances"


    We’ll share our experiences and questions with each other. This gathering will be less formal than our monthly luncheons where participants will have the option to use their cameras and participate in the discussion via video/audio.


    We hope you can join us!

Past Events

Friday, February 16, 2024 February Lunch Talk
Wednesday, February 14, 2024 SHRM Northwest Webinar: Optimizing HR Operations through Lean Principles
Thursday, February 08, 2024 February SHRM Luncheon
Friday, January 26, 2024 HR Day on the Hill
Friday, January 19, 2024 January Lunch Talk
Thursday, January 11, 2024 January SHRM Luncheon
Thursday, November 09, 2023 November Half Day Workshop
Friday, October 27, 2023 October Lunch Talk
Thursday, October 12, 2023 October SHRM Luncheon
Thursday, September 28, 2023 September Lunch Talk
Thursday, September 14, 2023 September Virtual SHRM Luncheon
Friday, August 25, 2023 August Lunch Talk
Thursday, August 10, 2023 August SHRM Luncheon
Monday, July 31, 2023 Member Appreciation Cruise
Friday, July 28, 2023 July Coffee Talk
Thursday, July 13, 2023 July SHRM Luncheon
Friday, June 30, 2023 June Lunch Talk
Sunday, June 11, 2023 SHRM Annual Conference
Thursday, June 08, 2023 June Virtual SHRM Luncheon
Friday, May 26, 2023 May Coffee Talk
Thursday, May 11, 2023 May SHRM Luncheon
Friday, April 28, 2023 April Lunch Talk
Sunday, April 16, 2023 SHRM Talent Conference & Expo
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software